EOL GV Site (coming soon)     Contact Us     Site Index     Site Help     Search    
HIAPER Project Office (High-performance Instrumented Airborne Platform for Environmental Research)
Home Project Office Information HIAPER Advisory Committee  
Project Office Home Page
Project Office Information
Staff Members & Project PI
Contact Us
HPO Organization & Oversight
HIAPER Integrated Project Team
HIAPER Advisory Committee
IPT Subgroups
Mailing List Information
Aircraft Specifications
GV Investigator's Handbook
Instrumentation Development
News & Announcements
HIAPER Photo Gallery
Glossary of Terms
Links of Interest
Restricted Access HPO Protected Site
Website Search Features
  HIAPER Advisory Committee (HAC)

The HIAPER Advisory Committee (HAC) was advisory to the NCAR director and consisted of university researchers and NCAR, NSF, NOAA, and NASA representatives. The HAC was charged with guiding the HIAPER project to ensure maximum benefit for a broad section of the scientific community and ensuring effective community involvement in critical aspects of the HIAPER acquisition.

The HAC members were active and critical participants in the GV acquisition and modification effort. Members of this committee thoroughly reviewed and endorsed the recommendation for contract award to Gulfstream, and committee members participated in workshop and other advisory group activities as needed. The HAC members met as required in order to receive status updates on the project and to participate on a "face-to-face" basis with HIAPER Project Office, UCAR/NCAR, and NSF staff in technical, engineering, and instrumentation discussions central to the HIAPER acquisition.


HAC Members

  • Mike Coffey
    Manager, Optical Techniques (OT)
    Atmospheric Chemistry Division (ACD)
    National Center for Atmospheric Research

  • Estelle Condon
    Associate Director, Astrobiology and Space Programs
    National Aeronautics and Space Administration

  • Al Cooper
    Director, Advanced Studies Program (ASP)
    National Center for Atmospheric Research

  • Jennifer Francis
    Professor, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences
    Rutgers University

  • Carl Friehe
    Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
    University of California, Irvine

  • Chester Gardner
    Vice President, Academic Affairs
    University of Illinois

  • Dave Jorgensen, Chair
    Manager, Warning Research and Development Division
    National Severe Storms Laboratory
    National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

  • Don Lenschow
    Scientist, Boundary Layer and Turbulence
    Mesoscale and Microscale Meteorology Division (MMM)
    National Center for Atmospheric Research

  • Lynn Russell
    Associate Professor,
    Scripps Institution of Oceanography

  • Eric Saltzman
    Professor, Earth System Science
    University of California, Irvine

  • Ron Smith
    Director, Yale Center for Earth Observation
    Professor of Geology and Geophysics and Mechanical Engineering
    Yale University

  • Gabor Vali
    Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science
    University of Wyoming


HAC Meeting Summaries, Reports, and Other Documentation

  Download File/Document File Type/Size
HIAPER Measurement Priorities
A Report to the NSF from the HAC
MS Office File
MS Word, 92KB
April 2002 HAC Meeting Summary
PDF File
PDF*, 19KB
May 2001 HAC Meeting Summary
PDF File
PDF*, 20KB
September 2000 HAC Meeting Summary
Web File
* Note: Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view PDF files.
Top of Page
  Restricted Access denotes restricted access ©2004 UCAR     Terms of Use     Privacy Policy     Photo Credits    
Support and operation of HIAPER is a partnership between the National Science Foundation and the National Center for Atmospheric Research PO Box 3000, Boulder CO 80307
Telephone: 303-497-2005
Fax Number: 303-497-2026
National Science Foundation National Center for Atmospheric Research HIAPER Project Office Home Page HIAPER Project Office Home Page About this picture